top of page

On my way to become a LEGEND... My first DNF.




About one a half years ago I decided to become a trail runner.

I mean REALLY decided. I was running since I was a child together with my father. And I was also doing different other sports… swimming, basketball, surfing, roller-skating… and more. In 2015, for fun, I did the Les Cretes de Spa 55 km race. I enjoyed that but didn't push for more. But finally, last year, I decided.

I started with the short 29 km in Liege, then Chaudfontrail 28 km, but then a lot more. Ohmtrail 50km in the Ardennes, 82 km on Velebit trail in Croatia (a f**in hard one btw), 80 km in Ecotrail of Brussels (my best result at the time), Dalmatia Ultra Trail (another one in Croatia… and my first 100 miles!... which I actually finished after twisting my ankle at 35 km)…so, yeah, I REALLY decided…

During this period, I was looking every time for longer and harder races, trying to reach my limit.


And then I heard about LEGENDS TRAIL.


I was thinking…OH, YEAH!!! THAT'S CRAZY! I WANT THAT!

I spoke about this race to some Belgian trail runners who I've met during the Dalmatia Ultra Trail. They told me: «Ah, this one! Yep, we know someone who tried, but he told us, no way, too hard! Not interesting. You will walk 80% of the time». In my head, I was thinking, 80% if I'm lucky, and well trained. Anyway…I decided to give it more time, and more thought…. had a bit of up and down in my training…I left time to pass… And then suddenly I knew exactly what I needed to do: go further!


Mid-January I registered for the Legends Trail and started to train. Nothing big and hard, but daily. That was my plan. Then I checked my agenda to plan some trial runs on the race route. The start to Nisramont, then Achouffe, and the final part to Houffalize. Luckily, during my run I had a trouble with a hunter. Lucky?

Yes, because he stopped me and my friend at the entrance of a private part of the forest close to Houffalize explaining that this is a private area, and that he doesn’t allow anybody to cross it, no runners or hikers (…this one was obviously not a runner…haha).



This made me contacting Tim, one of the two race directors of the Legends Trail. After I explained to him where this incident happened, he warned me that this was actually not the right route that I was following!


It’s because it has changed from the year before. I was thinking…interesting…because I downloaded the route from the Legend’s website just few days ago. Well, this was really an adventure. Anyways, let’s keep going, I decided. And I did another nice turn on the race route, from Aywaille to CP 3 with my girl. I wanted to pass by Ninglinspo, which I knew from doing the Ohmtrail 50 km. We had a nice day…under snow… To resume, I had a nice time during the preparations for the race. On the race route, and doing about 20 – 25 km per day, some on my daily, regular boring route, or discovering new playgrounds in the neighbourhood, just cool. I also did two races to prepare: XTrail Houffalize 50 km in December. Nice and technical one, but also hard for the last 15 km (I wasn’t in a good form on the day of the race). There I also met a new running buddy, Damien, by car-sharing to go to the race. Second one was From Dusk Till Dawn, a 40 km night trail in Durbuy. A really cool race. This was also the moment when I’ve met Stef and Tim for the first time, and then I knew that doing the Legends Trail will be super cool. I loved their spirit. Tim was easy going, and Stef just crazy. If I had any doubt about doing the race, they cleared it away.



During this race, I also met another runner, Thibauld, at the last CP. We finished the race together actually. I believe in signs: everything is driving me to do this race, good moments on the race route, sport, nature, adventures, and at first – friendship.


Then started the preparation of the race logistics and material. Logistics easy – just needed, more or less one message on the Legends Facebook page form Stef, and I got an answer from Maarten – problem solved for transport to the race start! Meeting point set on Friday, day of the race, Liege Guillemin train station, 13h. Material was a bit harder. I was doing as I was used to by then. I was thinking about it 24/7 with not doing anything. I was checking advices on the Facebook page, and other website, and just thinking about my previous races. And then, on Wednesday, two days before the race, I was checking what I have already and what I still need…socks, Cliff bars… I’ve put all my running clother on my dining room table, all my material – backpack, bottles, my bike Garmin, checking my Suunto watch, I bought a power bank to be sure I can recharge all my stuff. I’ve checked all my running shoes, cleaned them… And now for the final packing, compact to fit everything, also in the car because Maarten, our driver, told us that he has a VW Polo and travelling with another runner. And, yes, I forgot to tell about my best Jocker: Karmen, my girl! She made a deal with Tim to join as a volunteer for the race to be able to follow me as I am progressing and try to be there waiting for me at each CP. So cool! So I also helped her to pack. We both left for a crazy adventure!



So that was done. Now time to eat a lot and go to bed for a last long sleep before this crazy week-end.



Morning before the race – huge breakfast, last check of the bags, a coffee at the train station Starbucks. And hop on the train to Liege. Small nap on the train and Liege here we are. A sandwich and another espresso, a cigarette…and a message comes…Maarten is here to pick us up. Quick presentation to Maarten and Francois, and we jumped in the car. Let’s go! They both tried to the race last year, so we share experiences. Nice guys, I am happy, it started well. I am a trail runner for this kind of moments. To meet people like them. So cool!



They dropped us at the race start. There were only few people there for the moment. Time for race registration and race numbers pick up. Stress is here but also excitement. I am part of this! I am here! So happy! So proud! Medical check, bag check…everything is ok. Race number 44. Funny thing…it’s the same number I had at Dalmatia Ultra Trail. I like the ambient at the race start. Just cool. I met Kamil at the start location, a guy I actually first met in Velebit Trail last year… Funny thing, Kamil told me a story about a Polish legend, a hero with number 44. And I was wearing this number now…more pressure! Not enough that I should try becoming a legend, but I also should be a hero according to the story?! Stef was around of course, asking: “Are you ready?!” The one and only possible answer – I am born ready! Wow, I remember…lots of people around, runners, volunteers, logistics…

I love it, I love this feeling! The right place at the right time! But I was also feeling the time passing slowly and the pressure moving up step by step. I needed to do something. So, I started to put my gear on, putting my stuff on, one by one, everything what I was preparing all these weeks before, all the stuff I got used of doing in my previous races… I felt good, confident. Maybe too much. Maybe not enough. I don’t know. The feelings were going up and down. The real happiness was just to be here, so let’s enjoy! I talk a lot when I’m excited. I excited I was!!



Two small bottles of La Chouffe later, several stress peeing, and starting time is coming. Time to go to the start line. A last kiss to my girl. At the start, Marek and Paula with a computer. What?! Her GPS off, no gpx of the race. But they were solving it, right there at the start line…making sure that all is ok, and more or less on time for the race to start. It was a friendly mess.

Maarten jumping on a bloc for a live streaming or a video, a quick friendly exchange with him and François, then one of the shortest race briefings I ever heard. But with the most important words: we will all run together and not against each other, so let’s go and enjoy! 3…2…1…go! Allez, c’est parti!


But, wait! Where’s my girl?! Left? Right? Up? Down? Noooo! I can’t see her! F****, I needed a last eye contact. I looked back, but I couldn’t find here, and I had to move. Here comes a single track. All in line, one by one. I tried to see her one more time from far. I can’t see her! What a bad start!! Let’s go, but grrr….. On the trail, in line, with all the people speaking…Dutch. Laud. NO! Ok, keep cool, put some music on, keep concentrated. But my girl… I tried to call her… No service! Really?! OK, again, keep cool. Run. The trail got a bit wider, so let’s jump out of the group.

Done! I know this part of the route. I did it already with Damien, so I kept going...the bridge, the cabins, hill…go, go, go. I was in a group with Maarten, but everyone was loudly speaking Dutch. Funny thing that it was bothering me. In mean, I am a guy from Marseille! We are known for speaking fast and loud! But in FRENCH! That was the problem. My phone was catching signal now. I could finally call my girl! She’s at the HQ, not angry, upset or disappointed of this weird start. In fact, I was the only one thinking it’s like that. So, it’s cool. I felt better. Let’s go for the real start now! I pushed a bit, and stayed with Maarten until Nisramont dam.


It was cool and we had a nice pace. I was feeling good but also sweating a lot. But I started to feel discomfort in my shoes. I felt like I was burning in an oven. I didn’t know what was happening. But ok, I thought, it will pass. Then it started to get more technical. Trees, rocks, river high, … I had to let go of the group step by step. No problem, I was thinking, I will keep concentrated, listen to some music. But no, I was still burning in my gore-tex shoes, with warm trail socks. Cool for winter conditions, but I didn’t plan for this warm weather. I was burning, but still just hoping it will pass. And then I was alone. But no problem, I like that. I just need to follow the route on my watch. First mistake. I had to turn back for some meters. But then another mistake, and another one, and more. I realised that my Suunto was not enough to navigate me through this. Luckily, a group of runners caught up with me so I joined them, and later two or three of us separated from the groups with a really good pace. Finally it was cool. I arrived with them to La Roche-en-Ardenne. But there we had a doubt of direction. We decided to go straight, but soon it was weird. We were passing through a very small passage, a barrier, path full of bushes, no more track and we had to use cables no to slide. We had to go back. We saw then that there was someone passing on the other side of the castle. What a stupid mistake. But that’s it.


We finally arrived to La Roche. The group stopped for some water. I didn’t needed more. It also seemed that people know each other, but I didn’t know anyone so I decided to continue with slow pace in the middle of the night. Should I wait to continue with the group and not to continue with my navigation problem? I continued thinking I will manage.


I U-turn on the road. A doubt of direction. I didn’t know but I tool I try. I had to climb but ok. Let’s do it. But then, checking on my watch it seemed that I was far off track. One more mistake! Really?! There was no going back. I had to catch up with the right direction. I continued to climb. Then bush, and another rock to climb. Finally I saw other runners passing few meters down of where I was. I passed through bush and cut on my legs. It hurts, but I was ok, I had to catch the group of runner to join them. I just stayed quiet with them.



My phone was buzzing. It was Damien sending me sending me some encouragement messages, hehe, like this: “Hey, man! What are you doing?! Stay on the track! You’re doing well! But navigation seems to be your minus. Join a group, use them and learn from them, then see. But don’t stay alone now.” Exactly what I was thinking of doing. So, I did. The group was with Paula, I saw her immediately, and also Sarah, Francois, and Maximilien. A French guy! Finally I can talk with someone in French! I needed that! So, now a team was built. At least to CP 1. I started speaking with Max. He is nice. We shared some usual runners’ experiences, talking about different things as well. Cool moments. We were moving walking the hills and running the flat and downhills. Few mistakes and doubts in navigation, but it was ok, we were moving. At 04:54 we were at CP1.

Nothing more important at this moment. My feet were burning. But I was there, at CP 1. And Karmen is there too. Cool! Max stayed with his parents, so I let him go. Karmen was working at CP 1, helping all the runners coming in. I didn’t want to use her more than everyone else. She asked me what I need. Coke, warm food, coffee and a cigarette! My feet were burning, but I didn’t have any blisters. I kept my feet in the cool water at the entrance of the CP for a little while. I checked my feet to see if I need medical help, but I didn’t think so. I didn’t change my shoes as well. I decided to keep that luxury for the next CP, so I just changed my socks. With cleaning my feet it was supposed to be fine. I kept my sticks in my bag for later as well, so now was a time to use them.

A smoke and a coffee and off to go again. Paula and Francois left already. Max was also ready to go, so I hurried up to keep this French alliance. We started slowly. He solved his problem with blisters, and I solved my mood. We were moving and doing great. And started to know each other as well. This was cool.

But then the blisters problem reappeared for him, and the problem with my feet as well. But also another one. My behind was on fire due to a lot of sweating and friction. Damn. Not even some cream I’ve put on at CP1 helped. It was not enough. I used a tissue to help the pain, so it was a bit better. But I knew at this moment that I will suffer for long. Mental strength was The Key. We were talking and kept on going, trying not to fall asleep. We decided to take a lunch and medical break around 12,30h. Bit I didn’t know how to solve the problem with my feet. I decided to try to handle it at CP2. We were still moving. Other runners were catching up with us. There was Sarah with a few Dutch runners. We couldn’t follow them. But no problem, we kept on going. Soon we were following a river. Then it started to rain. First just a light rain, but this turned into a shower. We knew it will start at some point, just hoped that we will be at CP2 by that time. But this wasn’t a problem. Actually, it was kind of cool. I was thinking about Stef who was praying for bad weather, haha. Here it is!


We arrived in a town, crossing a bridge. CP2 is here? Seems to early. No…false alert. More km to do along the river. More climbing too. Then another town. Have we arrived? Seemed so, but again not. We met two other runners. We had all doubts about the way forward, but Max and I decided about a direction and moved on. Last climb, and here we are. It was hard, but we arrived.

Before to enter CP2 we decided not staying long there, but I felt that I would prefer to stay a bit. My mood was getting better while entering CP2. Karmen is here too! Cool! I entered exhausted. My feet still burning and my behind on fire as well. But I was still standing with a smile. Let’s take off those shoes! Time to change for my Adidas Raven. New socks as well, but not five fingers anymore. This will be a change for my feet, so it should be better anyway. I wanted to sit down with my feet in water, but there was no water bucket available. A volunteer ran to find a solution and came back with what seemed to be a high bin. This was so funny! Max and his parents were there. Laughing at me and taking photos. Karmen too. And me, I couldn’t resist to act stupid! This made my mood be better. It was time for some medical assistance.

Let’s see what can be done about my feet. Time for a warm meal and some Chouffe as well, of course. All good for my mood. My feet were deeply wet, so let’s dry them…with a hairdryer! 5-star treatment! The volunteers were really nice people. Nice spirit! I was so happy to participate in this event! I got some straps on my inflammations and my feet were treated. Then, time for a cigarette. Max is ready to leave. I don’t feel like yet. End of the French duo.


After finishing my cigarette, I questioned myself weather I should sleep or not. I felt awake, but I knew I needed a nap. I decided to take a 20 min nap. Someone told me this was the only place to get a warm, dry nap inside the CP. There’s also a dark corner. What a luxury! I asked Karmen to wake me up in 20 min. When I was laying on the matrass I was thinking: I am to awake, I am losing time for nothing. But, then Karmen woke me up. 20 min already passed?! Did I sleep at all?! She told me, yes, but I don’t feel like I have. But now I feel good to start again. With new legs! However, still with pain in my feet. Let’s see how it goes.


I dressed up, exchanged some smiles and jokes with some of the volunteers, and a last cigarette. A big kiss and a huge hug from my girl and ready to go!

Back on track. First turn, first mistake. I was telling myself: keep cool, be patient, just reach Aywaille and then you know the route. Another mistake and again I’m off course. In the middle of nowhere. I crossed a farm field trying to get back on the good track. I know it’s just 50 m down, out of the field. But a problem – it’s like a cliff full of bush. So I decided to follow it in a parallel way until it gets better and possible to climb down. Another 50 m, 100 m, but still just a cliff, and the cable closing the farm field. Let’s keep cool. It will be ok. My phone buzzing… Karmen calling me. Yes, sweetie, I know I am off-track. But it’s under control. Still checking where to pass… I tried finally between trees and bushes and made my way down. Yes! Back on the good way! According to my Suunto that should be it! After bushes and the farm field, mud. Sometimes just a bit, but sometimes really deep. I was sliding with those running shoes. It’s hard. I was losing a lot of energy just to keep standing and avoiding the sliding parts. My mood started to go down. And the pain in my feet was back. I was tired and starting to feel sleepy again. I see little houses. Maybe Aywaille appearing? Yes, I can recognise the train station! From that point on, I know the route! Cool! Another runner joined me but passed me soon. I was slow because of my feet. He was doubting about the direction, so I advised me, explaining that I know this part of the way, but he decided not to rely on my advice. What a pity. I passed him and took my own way. I was crossing Aywaille. Bars were opened with people on the terraces enjoying Saturday night. Should I stop for a little break on my way? No, I prefer not to. I wanted to use the fact that I knew the way. The hill after Aywaille is hard. I feel so tired and sleepy… A bench. Should I stop and use it for a nap? Ok, let’s do that. I am between Aywaille and Playe. I decided to call my girl to tell her where I am and ask her to call me if my dot is not moving. I am wet, cold, sleepy. Let’s have a nap. I’m not really used to take this kind of stupid decisions, but I felt like I needed it. I fell asleep lying on the bench for maybe 10 min. I have to move because I’m starting to get cold. I’ve put my back pack on again and moved on using my sticks to walk 80% of the time. My feet were hurting so much. I started to have doubts about the rest of the race. I was still moving but starting to feel disconnected from reality. I want to arrive soon to CP3. I want a smoke. I want the pain to disappear. I can see someone on the side of the road. Is that Stef? Yellow hat, blue jacket, in the middle of nowhere! Strange! I’m approaching… No, it’s just a stupid tree! A smoke, a break, please!! I can smell smoke. Is there a fire? Strange. I continue to follow the track…but my phone is buzzing. It’s my girl. What?! I am going the wrong way?! I was starting to feel desperate. No more pleasure. Since one or two hours already. I feel like I cannot handle anymore. I can go further, but with the pleasure gone, I was not sure I can continue. What will be the price to pay? Destroying my feet? Killing my desire of trail running? I don’t more of that. I decided. I called Karmen. That’s it. I don’t want more. It’s not my day. It’s not my race. I feel it can become dangerous. These are not excuses. She passed the phone to Stef. Sorry, Stef, I am done. I don’t want more. There is no problem, I am in a safe place, but I don’t want to keep on going. Safety team to pick me up? Yes! He gives me directions to the way back to the first road. Sorry, man, I can’t do more… He started to laugh because I guess I said 50 time that I’m sorry. It’s not needed. I know it’s not, but that’s the way I was feeling.


So now walking back. Still tired, exhausted, but lighter. Like when you feel sick going to the doctor, waiting to enter the doctor’s office, you already kind of feel better. I felt exactly the same while walking slowly to the road. I met a group of runners on my way. I’m ok, just done, no need of anything, the safety team is coming to pick me up at the road. Good luck guys!


A reached the road and sat down. A car is arriving and slowing down. They are here! Cool! It’s finished. Somebody asked me if I’m ok. Yes, just exhausted. A man came to me and took me by the arm, strongly, I feel like turning on my feet. Taking my stuff, I sat in the car. Let’s drive to CP3. Karmen will be there.

It’s finished. We are there. Stef welcomed me asking if I’m ok. Yep, I am. Exhausted, disappointed. Sorry. But I’m ok. I entered CP3. Karmen is here. Full of support for me. Nice ambient at CP3. Quiet. Time for a smoke. I put a few layers of clothes on me to be warm again. A smoke, La Chouffe and a warm meal. Nice. Did I took the right decision at the right time?


At CP3, Paula is here too… She also stopped, she caught cold and couldn’t warm up again. So here we are. It’s done.


Tim proposed to Karmen to drive us to HQ. There are beds to sleep there. Step by step I was feeling better, with ups and downs in my mood. Disappointment, but at the same time happiness that I was part of such an adventure. I didn’t need a lot of time to fall asleep. A shower and then bed.


The day after, back to “normal” life. Breakfast. Sharing my adventure. Coffee, cigarette… Checking the dots of the future legends. Wow…how can they do that. It’s a good day, it’s a good race, they are well trained, experienced…


As I told to Stef – next year I will be back. Sam race number. Same desire. But not the same. With more experience. Next year number 44 will be back! Be sure of that!


Now I just want to say a big thank you to everyone! To all this organisation, to Tim and Stef. Those crazy guys created such a big adventure! Thanks to all of those nice volunteers. So helpful! Full of support. Thanks to Damien who supported me during the race with some helpful messages. Thanks to my girl Karmen for so much support, and help, and everything…



Now time for new adventures. In 2 weeks Ecotrail Paris 80 km. Another ambient, another pleasure… Still on my way to become a legend…



to be continued...

bottom of page